Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 21, 2022

Chairwoman Lina Khan U.S. Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20580

Dear Chairwoman Lina Khan,

We write regarding the proposed Motor Vehicle Dealers Trade Regulation Rule, issued by the Federal Trade Commission on July 13, 2022. The public comment period ended September 12, 2022.

This rule would affect tens of millions of consumer transactions annually. Unfortunately, due to the short period for public comment, many stakeholders and constituents were not able to submit feedback. It appears that many of the Rule's new requirements were prepared without any testing to determine their actual impact in the market. This information would provide critical feedback to the Commission.

Since the Commission regrettably failed to issue an advance notice of the proposed rulemaking in accordance with Section 1.10 of the Commission's procedural rules, the extensive set of questions included in the proposed rule should have preceded the issuance of the proposed rule itself. A major concern articulated by stakeholders relates to the fact that consumer transactions have already been regulated under existing law. Furthermore, the proposed measures would inject unintended costs into the auto retailing process and massively extend transactional times.

Recognizing the importance of the matter and supporting the Commission in its efforts to protect customers and honest dealers from retail sales fraud practices by making the automotive buying process clearer and more competitive, we request the FTC to reopen the deadline for comments to be submitted on the proposed rule for an additional sixty to ninety days.

Thank you for your attention to this deadline extension request. We look forward to your cooperation so that all actors concerned have the chance to express their opinion on this matter.

Sincerely,

Chris Pappas

Chris Pappas

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Lance Gooden Member of Congress Mark E. Amodei Member of Congress

None & Amous

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress Doug Lamborn
Member of Congress

Brian J. Mast Member of Congress

Brian Higgins
Member of Congress

Michael Waltz
Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Mary E. Miller Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz

Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Yared Golden Member of Congress Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress