Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

November 6, 2020

The Honorable Elaine L. Chao Secretary U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, D.C. 20590

Dear Secretary Chao:

We write to express strong support for the Department of Transportation's proposed pilot program to allow commercial driver's license holders between the ages of 18 and 20 to operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate commerce. Your pilot program will greatly enhance transportation safety, provide young Americans with the launching pad to a rewarding career in the trucking industry, and bolster a workforce that has been essential in responding to the COVID pandemic.

As you know, the proposed pilot program closely resembles the DRIVE Safe Act (H.R.1374/S.569), legislation that enjoys large bipartisan support in both the House and Senate. Support for the pro-safety and pro-jobs legislation has been driven in part by the driver shortage confronting our nation. The trucking industry was short an estimated 60,000 drivers in the most recent analysis of the industry and will need to hire roughly 1.1 million new drivers over the next decade to keep pace with growing demand and an aging workforce. As a direct result, companies in supply chains across the economy are facing higher transportation costs, leading to increased prices for consumers on everything from household goods to food at the grocery store. If successful, this pilot program may provide a direct means for the trucking industry to partially alleviate its workforce challenges, which in turn strengthens our domestic supply chains.

Like the DRIVE Safe Act, your proposed pilot program is also firmly grounded in transportation safety. Safety is the primary purpose and goal of the Department's regulation of commercial vehicles, and the proposed pilot program will take significant steps to ensuring the safe and efficient movement of interstate commerce. The robust training regimen established by this pilot program goes far beyond what is currently required for 18-to-20-year-old drivers in 49 states and the District of Columbia, laying the groundwork for significant safety improvements on our nation's roads and bridges. This will lead to a highly trained and safety-focused workforce moving our nation forward.

Without question, the mobilization of the trucking industry in response to the COVID-19 emergency has demonstrated how critical the trucking workforce is to the economy and our emergency response supply chain. Given the driver shortage facing the industry, we are concerned that any attrition during this and future emergencies may cripple the industry's ability to effectively and swiftly deliver goods and supplies. A pilot program will hopefully reinvigorate this essential workforce, ensuring that the trucking industry is well-equipped to confront the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and any future health crisis.

Thank you for moving forward with this important pilot program, which closely mirrors the DRIVE Safe Act, which we hope will become law soon. We look forward to working closely with you in this effort to support and bolster both transportation safety and our essential trucking workforce.

Sincerely,

Tay Ullagesithe

Trey Hollingsworth Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress



Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

derson

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Andy Barr Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Brook

Mo Brooks Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne Member of Congress

omer NEW James Comer

James Comer Member of Congress

ada

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

James R. Brind

James R. Baird Member of Congress

Bank

Jim Banks Member of Congress

ili

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Xary Buchler

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

enry hellar

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Vary

Rodney Davis Member of Congress



Scott DesJarlais Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Sol Jill

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Jared Golden Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

400

Al Green Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

Ron Estes

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

anuce

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

Garret Graves Member of Congress

othmun

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

ee

Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress

Jody Hice Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Billy Long Member of Congress

B.MIC

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress

ales X Mooney

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

ola Joyce

John Joyce Member of Congress

lille

Fred Keller Member of Congress

1000

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

le

Roger Marshall Member of Congress

ler

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

re D. meller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Kappe M

Markwayne Mullin Member of Congress

A filze

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

James Sensenbrenner Member of Congress

Ross Spano Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

adie Walorshi

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress

Mike Rogers Member of Congress

John Rutherford Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Steve Stivers Member of Congress

ren

Fred Upton Member of Congress

Camby K. Wilen

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

Some Westerman

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Bolig Willma

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Paul Mitchell Member of Congress

Gary Palmer Member of Congress

Fucher

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Timbalberg

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

5 Wilson

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

Denver Riggleman Member of Congress

Don Young Member of Congress

IV

A. Drew Ferguson IV, DMD Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress

Van layloz

Van Taylor Member of Congress

Flin M. Sufant

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Jaime derrera Butler

Jaime Herrera Buetler Member of Congress

P

Pete Olson Member of Congress

Will the

Will Hurd Member of Congress

hadan's 0

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress