## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

January 15, 2019

President Donald J. Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

Thank you for your strong pro-life commitment and the robust pro-life policies advanced by your Administration over the past two years. We share your belief that every human life is precious, sacred, and deserving of protection.

As you know, there are long-standing policies of including language in appropriations bills to protect taxpayer money from funding and facilitating the destruction of innocent life that is opposed by pro-life Americans. These provisions include:

- Preventing direct taxpayer funding of abortion. This includes the Hyde Amendment, which has saved over two million lives since 1976.<sup>1</sup>
- Restricting funding for abortion advocates
- Establishing conscience protections. This includes the Weldon Amendment, which protects health care providers from being discriminated against because they refuse to provide, pay for, or refer for abortion.
- Requiring embryo protection.
- Opposing coercive family planning provisions.

We believe these long-standing protections should be retained—even strengthened.

No law should be enacted that weakens or reverses current pro-life policies or laws. This includes legislation that undermines important pro-life policies your Administration has initiated over the past two years, including Protecting Life in Global Health Assistance.

We respectfully urge you to publicly commit to veto any appropriations bill that weakens any existing pro-life protections on taxpayer funding or any other bill that would weaken federal policy on abortion. We will vote to sustain your veto.

Sincerely,

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress Kevin McCarthy House Republican Leader

Member of Congress

<sup>1</sup> New, Michael J. Ph.D. "Hyde @ 40: Analyzing the Impact of the Hyde Amendment." Charlotte Lozier Institute. September 2016. https://s27589.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/OP\_hyde\_9.28.3.pdf

my stalise Steve Scalise

House Republican Whip

Kay Granger

Member of Congress

Mai Virginia Foxx Member of Congress

1ch

Tom Graves Member of Congress

Robert Aderholt

Member of Congress

Ann Wagner Member of Congress

Hal Rogers

Member of Congress

· Chenez Liz Cheney

Republican Conference Chair

Andy Harris, M.D.

Member of Congress

2400 Kevin Brady

Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

Martha Roby

Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Ralph Abraham, M.D. Member of Congress

Rob Bishop

Member of Congress

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Ted Budd

Member of Congress

5

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Clay Higgins

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Mail

Roger Marshall, M.D. Member of Congress

man

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

lice Jody Hice

Member of Congress

David Kustoff Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk

Member of Congress

Paul Mitchell Member of Congress

Gary Palmer Member of Congress

set fe

John Ratcliffe Member of Congress

FRAncis 124

Francis Rooney / Member of Congress

David P. Roe, M.D.

Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker

Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

on

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Loud

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

ackie Welski

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Jodey Arrington

Member of Congress

Jim Banks

Member of Congress

Doug Collins Member of Congress

Sean Duffy Member of Congress

Ron Estes

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Jeff Fortenberry Member of Congress

Greg Gianforte Member of Congress

French Hill Member of Congress

Hero 2

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

John Rutherford Member of Congress

Roger Williams Member of Congress

A. Drew Ferguson, IV DMD Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Mark Walker Member of Congress

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Ken Buck

Ken Buck Member of Congress

Bu

**Bill Flores** Member of Congress

George Holding

Member of Congress

ett

Brett Guthrie Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Andy Biggs

Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

**Bob Gibbs** Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

11. Robert E. Latta

Member of Congress

Blaine Leutkemeyer Member of Congress

Kenny Marchant

Member of Congress

Steve Stivers

Mark Meadows Member of Congress

D. David McKinley Member of Congress

Pete Olson Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

Bred .

Brad Wenstrup Member of Congress

Andy Barr Memoer of Congress

Jason Smith

Member of Congress

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Rob Wittman Member of Congres

Duncan Hunter Member of Congress

licht **Richard Hudson** 

Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen

Member of Congress

Mro B

Mo Brooks Member of Congress

Eml

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Steve Chabot Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais Member of Congress

Forme C

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

arry Bucshon, M.D.

John Carter

Member of Congress

Mike Conaway Member of Congress

hanhy

Charles Fleischmann Member of Congress

Garret Graves Member of Congress

ume Herrer Bentler

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga

hes

Member of Congress

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

0 Member of Congress

alex X. M

Alex. X. Mooney Member of Congress

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Mike Rogers Member of Congress

511 1 FRM Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Jim Jordan Aember of Congress

Bil v Long Member of Congress

Patrick McHenry Member of Congress

anenanc.

Markwayne Mullin Member of Congress

Callin C 107

Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

John Shimkus

Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong

Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

James Comer Member of Congress

F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr.

Member of Congress

Denver Riggle

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Warn

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

tra

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

ann

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Benchice

Ben Cline Member of Congress

sh h Vore

John Rose Member of Congress

Bryan Steil Member of Congress

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Rob Woodall Member of Congress

4

Trey Hollingsworth Member of Congress

Kevin Hern

Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

Chip Roy

Member of Congress

Van Taylor Member of Congress

Steve Watkins Member of Congress

carol n'n

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

Michael Guest

Member of Congress

Mike Johnson Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne Member of Congress

Neal Dunn

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

Ross Spano Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress

Jim Baird Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart

lember of Congress

Mark E. Green, M.D. Member of Congress

om Ka

Tom Rice Member of Congress

Greg Steube

Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson

Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

John Curtis Member of Congress

Wille

William Timmons Member of Congress

**Rick Crawford** Member of Congress

Stauber Pete Member of Congress

llon

Ron Wright Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

michall of

Mike Turner Member of Congress

Daniel P. Meuser Member of Congress