

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515-3605

September 29, 2021

The Honorable Adam Smith Chairman House Armed Services Committee 2216 Rayburn Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jack Reed Chairman Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mike Rogers Ranking Member House Armed Services Committee 2216 Rayburn Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jim Inhofe Ranking Member Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Smith, Ranking Member Rogers, Chairman Reed, and Ranking Member Inhofe:

As you begin the conference committee process to reconcile the House and Senate versions of the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2022, we write to strongly urge you to strike Sec. 529 of the House version, H.R. 4350. We are greatly concerned that if enacted, Sec. 529 would violate the Second Amendment rights of our nation's brave servicemembers by allowing military judges and magistrates to issue military court gun confiscation orders.

Even more concerning, under this provision, such an order could be issued by a military court on an *ex parte* basis – meaning the order could be issued without the servicemember even being present in court to defend themselves. We believe this is a serious breach of due process that demands your full attention.

Every single day, brave American servicemembers serve in harm's way to defend our nation, our way of life, and the very constitutional rights that Sec. 529 would erode. This dangerous provision must be excluded from the final package. Again, we ask for your support to strike Sec. 529 of H.R. 4350 from the final conference report of the FY 2022 NDAA. Thank you for your attention to this important matter and please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions.

Sincerely,

STEPHANIE BICE Member of Congress

RICHARD HUDSON Member of Congress

Kichael Hadon

DAVID B. McKINLEY, P.E. Member of Congress

> W. GREGORY STEUBE Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarges

DIANA HARSHBARGER Member of Congress

> TIM WALBERG Member of Congress

> DAVID ROUZER Member of Congress

> JACK BERGMAN Member of Congress

> BILLY LONG
> Member of Congress

JERRY L. CARL Member of Congress

MICHAEL C. BURGESS, M.D. Member of Congress

BRIAN BABIN, D.D.S. Member of Congress DAN NEWHOUSE Member of Congress

SCOTT DESJARLAIS, M.D. Member of Congress

BILL JOHNSON Member of Congress

BRIAN MAST Member of Congress

MADISON CAWTHORN Member of Congress

MATTHEW ROSENDALE, SR.

Member of Congress

JACKIE WALORSKI Member of Congress

GREGORY F. MURPHY, M.D. Member of Congress

ERIC A. "RICK" CRAWFORD Member of Congress

> AUSTIN SCOTT Member of Congress

Vidoria Jawa

VICTORIA SPARTZ Member of Congress

TOM COLE

Member of Congress

Bob Low

BOB GOOD Member of Congress

Mariannette of Miller Meeks

MARIANNETTE MILLER-MEEKS, M.D. Member of Congress

DAN MEUSER Member of Congress

DAN CRENSHAW Member of Congress

GUY RESCHENTHALER
Member of Congress

ADRIAN SMITH Member of Congress

TED BUDD Member of Congress

BLAINE LUETKEMEYER Member of Congress Paniel Welster

DANIEL WEBSTER Member of Congress

JEFF DUNCAN Member of Congress

uman

DAVID P. JOYCE Member of Congress

STEVE WOMACK Member of Congress

EARL L. "BUDDY" CARTER
Member of Congress

MIKE BOST Member of Congress

MICHAEL WALTZ Member of Congress

PETER MEIJER
Member of Congress

SCOTT FITZGERALD
Member of Congress

att

MARK GREEN, M.D. Member of Congress RANDY WEBER
Member of Congress

TRACEY MANN
Member of Congress

BRUCE WESTERMAN Member of Congress

SCOTT PERRY Member of Congress

DUSTY JOHNSON Member of Congress

> MIKE SIMPSON Member of Congress

Van Laylor VAN TAYLOR

VAN TAYLOR Member of Congress

ROBERT J. WITTMAN
Member of Congress

ANDY HARRIS, M.D. Member of Congress

VICKY HARTZLER Member of Congress FRED KELLER Member of Congress

Claudia Jenney CLAUDIA TENNEY

CLAUDIA TENNEY Member of Congress

JEFF VAN DREW Member of Congress

JAKE LaTURNER Member of Congress

JOE WILSON Member of Congress

JAKE ELLZEY
Member of Congress

CLIFF BENTZ
Member of Congress

LOUIE GOHMERT Member of Congress

Tome a

BURGESS OWENS Member of Congress

Member of Congress

BRYAN STEIL Member of Congress From R. W. BRAD R. WENSTRUP, D.P.M. Member of Congress **JODY HICE** Member of Congress GLENN 'GT' THOMPSON Member of Congress JIM BANKS Member of Congress NEAL P. DUNN, M.D. Member of Congress **GLENN GROTHMAN** Member of Congress MIKE KELLY Member of Congress BETH VAN DUYNE Member of Congress

> GREG PENCE Member of Congress

Member of Congress BARRY LOUDERMILK Member of Congress ROBERT A. ADERHOLT Member of Congress PATRICK McHENRY Member of Congress JOHN CARTER Member of Congress MIKE GARCIA Member of Congress JOHN RUTHERFORD Member of Congress RONNY L. JACKSON Member of Congress **ELISE STEFANIK** Member of Congress AUGUST PFLUGER

Member of Congress

CHUCK FLEISCHMANN

Member of Congress

STEVE CHABOT Member of Congress

TIM BURCHETT Member of Congress

TONY GONZALES Member of Congress

MADL

KEVIN BRADY Member of Congress

NANCY MACE Member of Congress

GUS M. BILIRAKIS Member of Congress

CAROL D. MILLER Member of Congress

caroe 🛛.

BILL HUIZENGA Member of Congress

BARRY MOORE Member of Congress A. DREW FERGUSON, IV

Member of Congress

PETE STAUBER Member of Congress

RALPH NORMAN Member of Congress

LISA McCLAIN Member of Congress

moclain

BLAKE MOORE

Member of Congress

DOUG LAMBORN Member of Congress

DOUG LaMALFA Member of Congress

JOHN JOYCE, M.D. Member of Congress

DEBBIE LESKO Member of Congress

TOM McCLINTOCK Member of Congress

BRETT GUTHRIE
Member of Congress

LIZ CHENEY
Member of Congress

ALEX MOONEY

Member of Congress

MICHAEL T. McCAUL Member of Congress

> C. SCOTT FRANKLIN Member of Congress

MARY E. MILLER Member of Congress

ROBERT E. LATTA Member of Congress

VIRGINIA FOXX Member of Congress

TREY HOLLINGSWORTH Member of Congress

> BEN CLINE Member of Congress

DON BACON

DON BACON Member of Congress

Marjow Safer Dreen

MARJORIE TAYLOR GREENE
Member of Congress

WILLIAM R. TIMMONS, IV

Member of Congress

DEVIN NUNES Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler JAIME HERRERA BEUTLER

JAIME HERRERA BEUTLER
Member of Congress

THOMAS P. TIFFANY
Member of Congress

MARIO DIAZ-BALART Member of Congress

STEVEN M. PALAZZO Member of Congress

KEN CALVERT Member of Congress

MICHAEL CLOUD Member of Congress Hal Rogers

HAL ROGERS Member of Congress

ANDY BIGGS Member of Congress

BILL POSEY
Member of Congress

RICK W. ALLEN Member of Congress

FRENCH HILL Member of Congress

MARKWAYNE MULLIN Member of Congress

> TRENT KELLY Member of Congress

> MICHAEL GUEST Member of Congress

> JAMES R. BAIRD Member of Congress

> CHRIS JACOBS
> Member of Congress

KELLY ARMSTRONG Member of Congress

JIM HAGEDORN Member of Congress

> TOM EMMER Member of Congress

> MIKE JOHNSON Member of Congress

> KAT CAMMACK Member of Congress

CATHY McMORRIS RODGERS
Member of Congress

DAVID G. VALADAO Member of Congress

KEVIN HERN Member of Congress

TROY BALDERSON Member of Congress

LEE ZELDIN
Member of Congress

Brow Jansing

PETE SESSIONS Member of Congress

JULIA LETLOW Member of Congress

FRANK LUCAS Member of Congress

JOHN ROSE Member of Congress

SAM GRAVES Member of Congress

JAY OBERNOLTE Member of Congress

LARRY BUCSHON, M.D. Member of Congress

ASHLEY HINSON Member of Congress

shley Hinson

STEVE SCALISE Member of Congress

WARREN DAVIDSON Member of Congress KAY GRANGER Member of Congress

VERN BUCHANAN Member of Congress

JIM JORDAN Member of Congress

DARIN LaHOOD Member of Congress

DAVID KUSTOFF Member of Congress

> DAVID SCHWEIKERT Member of Congress

RANDY FEENSTRA Member of Congress

JAMES COMER Member of Congress

MICHELLE FISCHBACH Member of Congress

LAUREN BOEBERT Member of Congress

aurer

RUSS FULCHER Member of Congress