Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

February 16, 2024

The Honorable Michael S. Regan Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20460

Administrator Regan:

We write to express our staunch opposition of the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for fine particulate matter (PM2.5) final rule. We urge you to immediately rescind the final rule that will have devastating economic consequences to our Congressional districts while providing minimal real benefit in return.

Your agency announced the reconsideration of the 2020 PM NAAQS final action in June 2021 as a result of President Biden's Executive Order 13990 "*Protecting Public Health and the Environment and Restoring Science to Tackle the Climate Crisis.*" This executive order initiated review of all agency decisions from the previous administration. Given that there is no new science to initiate a reconsideration, this administration has shown the American people that a rush-to-green agenda is far more important than American jobs and the economy.

With 700,000 comments from a myriad of perspectives, the EPA is ignoring the sheer impact this rule will have on American industries including, but not limited to forestry, manufacturing, and recreation. In fact, these exact concerns were detailed in October of last year, when over 70 manufacturing organizations sent a letter to White House Chief of Staff Jeffrey Zients outlining issues with the proposal.

Lowering PM standards from 12 μ g/m3 to 9 μ g/m3 will put one-third of the U.S. population in areas of nonattainment. Not only that, but businesses will be forced to cut through red tape to satisfy new permitting requirements, impacting jobs and recreational activities as well as subsequently the economy, if they can even obtain permits at all. EPA's own data shows that PM2.5 concentrations have dropped 42 percent since 2000¹. A drop that was driven by major emissions reductions by power sector and mobile source reductions. These data show what we already know – that America's air is cleaner than it has been in decades and is going to be even cleaner in the future.

Not only has the EPA lowered these standards to unattainable levels, your agency is expecting states to submit new implementation plans, without updated implementation guidance, to demonstrate they have the "necessary" clean air programs and authorities to meet the newly revised standards. All permits thereafter must be submitted at the new level, giving industries effectively no time to adjust and meet these ridiculous new standards. An effective date of 60 calendar days within publishing of the Federal Register will create permitting gridlock, force

industries out of compliance, and result in small businesses shutting their doors due to an aggressive regulatory regime.

Time and again, this Administration has put the extreme environmental agenda above the needs of individuals, communities, and businesses that drive the economy of our Nation. The harm that your agency will be inflicting on our Congressional districts through this final rule is untenable. We call for the immediate recission of this rule and for the EPA to reconsider their decision while reviewing NAAQS under the regular five-year review schedule.

Sincerely,

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Harriet M. Hageman Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Sal I Bulky Carte

Earl L. 'Buddy' Carter Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Keith Self Member of Congress

sure auren Boebe

Member of Congress

Brian Babin Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

and K. Wiln

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

derson

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Jake Ellzey Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

man

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

almitz

Jay Obernolte Member of Congress

landia (Jenney

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

hu Ou Rose

John Rose Member of Congress

5 MIS

Mike Collins Member of Congress

Mariannette J Miller Meeks

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

0.

Alex Mooney Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Story

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

ustin Scott

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Stothmun

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Mary E Miller

Mary Miller Member of Congress

176

Chuck Fleischmann Member of Congress

In 2

Mike Ezell Member of Congress

R. Carl

Jerry Carl Member of Congress

orlens

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

I Van Orden

Derrick Van Orden Member of Congress

Matt Rosendale Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

nWal

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Mar

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

hober Cobingons

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis

Member of Congress

"lchen ins 1

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

David Valadao Member of Congress

Jathur

Brett Guthrie Member of Congress

Gary Palmer Member of Congress

Erin Houchin Member of Congress

rek haus

Lori Chavez-DeRemer Member of Congress

homas Tom Tiffany

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Hal Rogers Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford

Member of Congress

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Ishley Hinson

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

0

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

Imp

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

0

Aaron Bean Member of Congress

ichille Jusch bad

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

ench Hin

French Hill Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

John Duarte Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner Member of Congress

Scart Fitzyme

Scott Fitzgerald Member of Congress

2 Estor

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Blake D. MOOR

Blake Moore Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Josh Brecheen Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

ANY KUCA

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

412

Frank D. Lucas Member of Congress

eleste Maloy

Celeste Maloy Member of Congress

M.C.

Mike Simpson Member of Congress

Morgan Luttrell Member of Congress

honiz 15. Amores

Mark Amodei Member of Congress

. The

Ryan Zinke Member of Congress

Rudy #akym III Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress

Mark Alford Member of Congress

100

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

all

Cliff Bentz Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Ъ

Chip Roy Member of Congress

ile lood

Mike Flood Member of Congress

IN. (110

Dale W. Strong Member of Congress

jan

Eli Crane Member of Congress

Amata C. Radwagen

Amata C. Radewagen Member of Congress

Tran X

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M Member of Congress

Bryan Steil Member of Congress

Juan Ciscoman

Member of Congress

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

Baina IMUS

Jim Baird Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Inly

Andy Ogles Member of Congress

Hood

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

U

Burgess Owens Member of Congress